Tell us about your engine...

Moderators: elky, rodeobob

TriumphTR7
Probationary Member
Probationary Member
I live in: W.A.

G180W injection / ECU issues

Post by TriumphTR7 »

I'm having a few "issues" getting my G180W running correctly, cylinders 3 and 4 are running irregularly, not a constant miss, but not consistently firing whether at idle, accelerating or at partial/full throttle openings. It's an EFI model and I'm new to EFI. The spark is fat and healthy. Compression test shows 160psi on all except 3 which is 150. Leakdown shows 8% an all except 3, which is at 14% (and leaking through the inlet valve). Once I get the tappets (shims???) sorted - hopefully all will be well mechanically, in any case the problem is with 3 AND 4 not just 3. I have written ISU069 about this and he has given me an extremely detailed reply, following this, I have decided that an upgrade to a Delco digital ECU and wiring harness is probably a worthwhile exercise, as well as a dizzy upgrade. Can anyone tell me what model Camira/Gemini/Commodore (or whatever else) I should look for to source the needed parts? Also are there checks I can carry out to see if the ECU is ok before I buy it?

Obviously the injectors may be partially blocked and I'll check this out anyway, but the tuneability of the more modern ECU sounds like it is worth it in any case.

Thanks very much.

IZU069
Spaminator
Spaminator
I live in: Vic

Re: G180W injection / ECU issues

Post by IZU069 »

The compression etc should be more than adequate. It may simply be an injector problem.

Poida fitted a Delco to his Gemini (blue) G180W. I think yours was a green G180W, but that shouldn't matter.

Though Delcos are commonly taken from the JE Camira (the last model Camira from 1987 which finally overcame its problems; usually 2L but also 1.8L), some prefer the Nissan (N13?) for its better or longer wiring (more options wrt where to place the ECU).