knock sensor

Use this forum for general chat relating to G-Series twin cam engines...

Moderators: elky, rodeobob, Spaminator

nzgemini
Probationary Member
Probationary Member

knock sensor

Post by nzgemini »

hey guys just wanted 2 know if any 1 here has fitted a knock sensor 2 the sump of a g200w pics wud b gud cheers

IZU069
Spaminator
Spaminator
I live in: Vic

Post by IZU069 »

They should be mounted up near the head. They are usually attached to the inlet manifold.

It may not sense properly if sump mounted - unless you have a knock sensor designed for that.

But maybe other twincammers have done it? I wonder what sensor was used?
IZU069 - Isuzu means a lot to me.

archangel62
Long Term Member
Long Term Member

Post by archangel62 »

I'm no expert but if I had a knock sensor to install I'd be putting it towards the bottom of the block... Too high and end pistons' signals might be overwhelmed by the closer ones, not sure how these things combat that.. but definitely still into solid metal of the block/head.

Which ECU are you using? I want a knock sensor, but I run MSII and I don't think they're available/affordable yet. Will be soon no doubt.
Twincam needs: surge tank, EFI lines, TPS, recored radiator, hoses, assemble the ECU (50% done).

IZU069
Spaminator
Spaminator
I live in: Vic

Post by IZU069 »

Agreed - into solid block or head. But not the sump.
As to high or low - the knocking occurs at head level - ie, combustion.
The near/far doesn't matter as metal conducts sound far better than air etc.

I've seen early version knockers (Chrysler?) mounted mid-block (on the side, half way up), or up top/head (Isuzu).

Mick - for your knock sensor...
Jaycar have a knock sensor kit (KC-5444 $16.95; SiliconChip June 2007) but this excludes the sensor and is designed to be used with the SiliconChip March-June 2007 Programmable Ignition (KC-5442 $89.95 & Ignitor (coil driver) KC-5443 $44.50). I've written about this in another post.